Question 4: Didn’t you state in your book that you were once a Pre-tribber?

Answer 4: I believed it in the way a child believes in Santa Claus or that the moon is made out of green cheese. I believed it because those in authority whom I respected, loved and admired told me that Jesus was coming again, and it could be today! They gave me a couple Bible verses to hang this belief on, sort of as evidence, and others were saying the same thing. So there you have it, case closed, PTR had to be right because all the radio preachers I loved to listen to were in agreement!

   I believed it but other than a couple of trite sayings and those verses, I couldn’t defend it or teach it with confidence. The topic confused me so I basically didn’t want any part of explaining it as a pastor, this was the way it is and don’t ask questions.

   This is where I think most pastors of conservative churches are stuck. They dutifully repeat what they are told. They don’t want trouble from the powers that be in and out of their church and they don’t want to know anything that contradicts what they’ve been taught either. It is sort of like parents who watch what is said to their kids about Santa. They become very angry if someone tells them there’s no Santa Claus. People can be very protective about things that are not true.

