You may hear it or perhaps said it yourself: “I can’t stand watching the news. I’d rather do something I enjoy. It’s so depressing.”  

Personally, I cannot remember when I last watched network news. I’m thinking I ought to start. Our world has moved to the precipice and teeters on the brink. We need eye-witnesses.

When he composed Ash Wednesday, the agnostic T.S. Eliot wrote as if he knew what the end sounded like. The concluding line of his poem was “…this is the way the world ends not with a bang but a whimper.”

Maybe our notes on what happened will be useful someday. Future readers, curious about how such a noble nation turned rotten, will learn there were loud bangs to get our attention. Also, we heard several explosions and many whimpers.

In the 18th century, Edward Gibbon gathered first-person accounts from the 4th and 5th centuries. With those, he authored his six-volume The History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire. Similarities abound between Rome then and America now, but that is not my point. We are alive at the end, not just of the West’s decline, but of this age’s fall as well. Students of history will need factual reporting. We should preserve our testimony for posterity, on hard copy.

There is not one hole below the water-line in our ship of state, but many. Cultural decadence, drowning debt, one group pitted against the other, violence, godless elites and a burgeoning dependency class are taking us down. Soon, unfolding before our eyes. will be a rapid descent into the abyss.

Writing about the disintegration of our present age for historians in the next age is dirty work, yet someone has to do it—or how will they know? This is what the end looks like. If you don’t believe me, study the Bible’s prophets or read another book that will aid objectivity. I modestly recommend The Prophets of God. It might be just the right antidote for your depression.

