Children Pledging Allegiance
All through my student days I stood with my classmates and recited the pledge of allegiance to the flag. I often thought deeply about what I was saying. My confession of loyalty resulted in a patriotism that carried over into my adult life.

What is spoken has serious implications, for good or evil. The diet-conscious watch what goes in their mouth. According to our Savior, more attention should be given to what comes out (Matthew 15:10-11).

With the fire lit, the executioner asks a final time “Will you deny Christ?” The martyr, bound tightly to a wooden stake, loudly professes, “Jesus is Lord!” He displays the fullness of God’s Spirit (1 Corinthians 12:3). The saint’s confession of love and loyalty rises to heaven like fragrant incense.

Worshipers will soon surround a false messiah. Together they will say, “Who is like the beast? Who can make war against him?” (Revelation 13:4b NIV) Their treasonous praise is a stench in God’s nostrils.

Satan is jealous for our allegiance. He hates a promise of faithfulness to Jesus coming from our lips. If we reject Christ, we give the devil love. If we fail the loyalty test to save our life, we will lose it (Matthew 16:25).

Job did not sin. When stricken with one catastrophe after another, he did not ask “Why me?” Praise and worship came from his lips (Job 1:19-22). If, in our day of adversity, we curse God, or curse our brother, we place ourselves in danger of hell (Matthew 5:22). In these last days, the devil wants Christians to switch sides. Many will do so (Matthew 24:10).

Let’s stand like recruits inducted into military service. Raise your right hand and, with the army of God, make your vow. “I pledge my allegiance to Christ alone.” We will need to recall our promises during the testing time ahead (1 Timothy 6:12-14).

