“When I shut up the heavens so that there is no rain, or command locusts to devour the land or send a plague among my people, if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.” (2 Chronicles 7:13-14 NIV)

The question raised in my post a couple days ago is worthy of revisiting. With the many recent revelations of the possible spread of Ebola in the U.S., a prominent American-based political e-zine, The American Standard, has published the thought-provoking “Six Reasons to Panic”. Their writers advise a controlled-panic as opposed to all-out “run off the cliff panic”, but panic nevertheless. It is obvious they subscribe to the notion–at least to the real possibility–that this could be the big one.

Far from going into a panic, my Bible tells me not even to be anxious–not about anything, including a wide-scale Ebola outbreak (Philippians 4:6). If worry or fear creeps into my mind, as a Christ-follower, I must cast all my anxiety on Him (1 Peter 5:7). That does not mean that we pretend that the disease does not exist or that we will not be affected or infected by it; it does imply God’s people will not be shaken by their circumstances.

It helps if we know what’s going on, even if our leaders from the top down don’t have a clue. This is God. In the passage cited above, the Lord said, “When I send a plague.” God announced in Deuteronomy 28:15 and following what he will do when the people he’s blessed no longer follow his laws: He will bring a curse on them, which includes wasting diseases. Do we think God makes idle threats? History proves otherwise.

Why is it so hard to add two and two? It is a cause and effect relationship: First, we take the side of Israel’s enemies, then the U.S. Supreme Court effectively strikes down Defense of Marriage Legislation across the country legalizing homosexual unions. (Pass the Pot in celebration.) As that announcement out of Washington D.C. was made, the late-Thomas Duncan arrived in Dallas from Liberia. What a coincidence? Can anyone say “blood moon”?

The Lord is merciful. We do have an option: We could try and fight the God-sent contagion on our own or humble ourselves (get down on our face and knees) and pray. We must seek His face and turn from our wicked ways–in other words repent of our sin. If we meet these conditions, the Heavenly Father promised, then will I hear from heaven, I will forgive their sin and I will heal their land. The whole idea is to be reconciled to God.

So where is the call for national repentance? Where is the condemnation from pulpits of policies that promote wickedness. Are we that far gone?  I don’t know that it is the big one, but from God’s perspective, why shouldn’t it be?

