“What? know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own? For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s.” (1 Corinthians 6:19-20, KJV).

Thanksgiving is a time to appreciate our LORD’s blessings. Personally, November 29th – December 1 was a difficult few days last year. Today, I would like to share what Yahweh brought me through that weekend.

In an accident at work, November 11, 2013, I received a pilon fracture in my left ankle, shattering my tibia and fibula. The day after Thanksgiving (Nov. 29th), I was admitted to the hospital for a second, more complicated, surgical repair. Due to the swelling, the surgeon had to decide whether I could have the operation on Saturday or wait until Monday. Our Lord works according to His timeline. To our surprise, the door was opened for surgery before noon Saturday.

As I was wheeled into the operating room I silently prayed: ” Lord, I give you my body and place my life in your hands.” When I awoke, it was after 7pm. The doctor was able to do all the needed repairs and I was back in my room by 9pm.

With the operation behind me, I was back home on Sunday, December 1st. I realized God chose the day and the hospital room just for me. Hanukkah, the feast marking the dedication of the Temple of God, began last year on Thanksgiving. My surgery was on the third day of Hanukkah. Three signifies completion and unity. How great is that!

My room number was 719. This was amazing! Studying Israel’s holy days in relation to salvation history is my passion. (The Hebrew calendar is a key in understanding the last days.) The calendar operates in nineteen-year cycles having seven leap years (an additional month) within that time frame, thus 719. God used the circumstances of my accident to confirm that He is with me (Psalms 121:1-3).

No matter how difficult life gets, when we trust in Jesus, we will find plenty for which to thank him. EJ

