Amos answered Amaziah, “I was neither a prophet nor a prophet’s son, but I was a shepherd, and I also took care of sycamore-fig trees. But the LORD took me from tending the flock and said to me, ‘Go, prophesy to my people Israel.’ Now then, hear the word of the LORD…” (Amos 7:14-15 NIV)

For some time, Brother Elijah and I have shared this blog. We offer our insights, but neither he nor I claim that we are prophets. Our role is to teach what the Bible says about future events. We have a great responsibility to accurately interpret Scripture (not adding to or taking away from prophecy) so, in the last days, God’s people will be equipped for every good work.

Chiefly, our mission is to separate false prophecy and false prophet from the true. Readers and students will judge if we are right or not. I am only a gardener whom the Lord chose to stand before men and share His Word.

During a recent class, I was asked if I knew any prophets. It was a direct question, so I answered “No, I do not.” I should have added, “I believe I’ll know ‘em when I see ‘em.”

Elijah and I want to help others have the same confidence. (I have written “The Prophets of God: Recognize them, Listen to them, Follow them” on this subject.) Our thesis is: Study the genuine thoroughly; then you will easily identify the counterfeit.

I have known many who either accepted the title or promoted themselves as “Prophet or Prophetess.” (Thank you Lord for your mercy! In my ignorance I was one; that is, before I subjected myself to the test of Deuteronomy 18:20-22).

Foreknowledge may come from God and be spoken by anyone whom He chooses (ex. Balaam and Caiaphas). But know this: Those who possess the full anointing will resemble and sound more like Jesus, Elijah, Jeremiah or John the Baptist than a Wall St. banker.

We must pay careful attention to the prophets of old. Speaking God’s judgment was their role. Not one, not even The Prophet Jesus, placed “Prophet” before their name.

Our posts will continue to encourage a right understanding as well as broadcast the prophet’s saving message. When God reveals his divine messengers—as he surely will—receive them as if they were Our Lord himself (Matthew 10:40-41).

