… for you know very well that the day of the Lord will come like a thief in the night. While people are saying “Peace and safety,” destruction will come on them suddenly, as labor pains on a pregnant woman, and they will not escape. (1 Thessalonians 5:2-3 NIV)

First, I do not consider myself a pessimist or a doom-and-gloom type. I have the blessed hope that comes through Christ. I’m a believer in God’s absolute sovereignty, and as such I am a student of prophecy. Since early on, I’ve liked history, psychology and been interested in the world around me. My favorite pastime is Sunday’s New York Times crossword puzzle.

Put this all together and you have a man who attempts to solve what God will do next. I have been wrong more than right. God’s ways are not our ways. His thoughts are not my thoughts, but I press on to know the mind of Christ.

Since the enemy is God’s puppet, I believe it is easier to know his schemes. He is relentless in his efforts to gain control of nations such as the U.S.  Never has the world or America been more at risk. I am not a prophet nor am I the son of a prophet. I study them and have written about them (ex. The Prophets of God). I do not claim prophet status, but if I was the enemy, I would see this as a prime time to strike.

America is splintered into factions. It has a weakened military and is in a critical transition period. There is perhaps a thirty-day window where the transfer of power from out-going president, Mr. Obama, to the incoming, Mr. Trump, is at its most vulnerable. Though Mr. Obama is leaving office, he remains the president until January 20th, seven weeks away.  In terms of what they project, Mr. Trump projects a strength Mr. Obama lacks. If I was the enemy, I would launch an all-out attack while Mr. Obama serves as Commander-in-Chief.

On the other side of the ocean, America’s enemies have had decades to develop their alliances and fortify their arsenals. They have used their resources to modernize their weapons systems and to formulate a strategy.

If I was the enemy within, I’d launch my attack at winter’s onset–that’s now. I would knock out heat, electricity (the power grid) and communications, cripple transportation, and then I would contaminate the water supply.

If I was the enemy, I would marshal ISIS members who’ve entered as Middle Eastern refugees, along with the radicalized Jihadists already here. I would free the incarcerated, mobilize the anarchists, anti-Christians, the anti-Trump and America-hater crowd, and incite them to loot, neutralize law-enforcement and set fires. I would do all in my power to induce chaos and wide-spread fear.

You probably got the picture?

Nothing short of national repentance will save America. I see little sign of that happening; not from the top down, or, for that matter, from the bottom up.

I do not have inside knowledge. I haven’t hacked any emails but I realize America’s destruction would have a ominous impact on the world. So, if I was the enemy, I would not let this opportunity pass. But, if I was the enemy, I have God pulling my strings and you know what that means.

But you, brothers, are not in darkness so that this day should surprise you like a thief. You are all sons of the light and sons of the day. We do not belong to the night or to the darkness. So then, let us not be like others, who are asleep, but let us be alert and self-controlled. (1 Thessalonians 5:4-6)

